The Government of Bihar conceived and resolved to set-up a Model institution where every facility for the education could be made available to the selected meritorious and talented students between the ages of 10 and 18 years belonging to the Weaker-sections and hailing from the rural areas. With the view, the Bihar  Legislative  Assembly, in 1951, appointed a Committee under the Chairmanship of  Sri. F. G. Pearce, the Principal of Rishi Valley School.

Sri. Pearce's scheme finally received the general approval of the Bihar Govt. in 1952 and the Residential School was opened on 15th November, 1954 at Netarhat with Sri. Charles Napier as its First Principal. The School admitted the first batch of students numbering 60 in 1954 for a six-years course. From 1982 onwards, the strength of Boys was raised up to 100.

The Alumni of Netarhat school have excelled in almost all the fields including Administration, Research, Medicine, Engineering and Teaching. The school is

situated  far away from disturbed and busy life of town, and is very close to lap of nature surrounded by Sal trees on a hill top. The whole atmosphere is based on Guru Kul Padhati - away from home, staying in Ashrams, simple and country made dress (bases on Gandhiji Vichar-Dhara). Continuing to provide excellent environment. The school has produced citizens who are following the motto of school "Atta Dipa Viharatha". The inspiration of school had let a number of students of this school (commonly known as NOBA-Netarhat Old Boys Association) to share their wisdom to whole world.


"Atta Dipa Viharatha" - Be Thou Your Own Light - is the motto of the school. It rightly motivates students to be self-dependent and instills in them confidence to face challenges of life. Great emphasis is laid on the all-round development (Sarvangeen Vikas) of the students.


Administrative Set-up

This School has been placed under the direct control of the Genernal body and Executive body Netarhat vidyalya Samiti to help the School Administration function properly and smoothly, the Human Resource Development Department, Govt. of Bihar / Govt. of Jharkhand through its notification constituted an Executive Committee, headed by the Divisional Commissioner as its Chairman. The Principal is the Secretary of the Executive Committee. As it is purely Government Institution, its entire administrative system is governed and controlled by the Govt. rules and regulations.

All teachers who are Gazetted Govt. Servants have been entrusted different academic and administrative control. The Principal is overall controlling officer and is vested with drawing and disbursing power.

Netarhat vidyalaya Samiti (General Body)

General Body
Dated 19-06-2017



Dr. Neera Yadav, Hon'ble Minister, School Education & Literacy Dept., Govt. of Jharkhand


Development Commissioner, Jharkhand, Ranchi

Vice Chairman

Principal, Netarhat Residential School, Netarhat

Member secretary

Secretary, School Education and Literacy Department


Divisional Commissioner, Palamu


Deputy Commissioner, Latehar


Deputy Commissioner, Lohardaga 


Representative of the Finance Department(Who is of other level of Deputy Secretary)  (Nominated by the Financial Secretary)


Shri Upendra Upadhyaya(Retired teacher of Netarhat School)


Shri Mallik Habib Gufran(Retired teacher of Netarhat School)


Shri Amar Nath Dar(National level Educationist)


Shri Narendra Nath Pandey(Former student of Netarhat School)


Late Col. Bajrang Bihari Singh(Former student of Netarhat School)




Finance and Funding

To meet out the expenditure of the School the Govt. has made a Budgetary Provision.


<------Home : Netarhat : Vidyalaya : Academics : Activities : Facilities : Aashram : Achievements
Announcements : Student's Desk : Alumni : Gallery : Message Board : Contact------>

Project Conceived by:  Dr. Manish Ranjan 'IAS', NOBA |  Powered by : COMPUTER Ed.